gwen learns

I finally found it.

Posted in gwen learns by gwenlearns on March 10, 2013

Well it finally happened.

And let me tell you, it doesn’t feel like I thought it would feel.

I thought it would feel like being cured from blindness. A perpetual high. And that bubbling over with joy and rainbows sort of feeling… all the time.

But it’s not like that at all.

I just feel content. Grateful. In tune. In stride.  Fewer thrills and chills. More peace and centeredness.

I finally found what I love to do. Three months ago, I walked into a room full of people like me.  Creators, perfectionists, dreamers, difference-makers.  And a good dose of introverts!  Yay. And then someone handed each of us a set of knives.  And we learned how to cut mirepoix without losing fingers. Eventually that mirepoix went into a pot, and we learned how to cook.

And… a couple months from now, people will call us chefs.

And I’m loving it.

Screen shot 2013-03-10 at 12.15.54 AMI’m still trying to sort out how I got here. Slowly discovering foreshadows in my story, but it still feels a bit random. I wish I could draw a map everyone could follow to this kind of contentment.

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hollypelz said, on March 10, 2013 at 4:35 am

    Loved this post, Gwen, and feel so very happy for you…

  2. Jan Groen said, on March 10, 2013 at 10:52 am

    Isn’t it wonderful how even though we can’t always articulate our heart’s desire, God orchestrates it in his perfect timing? ‘Contentment’ is a beautiful thing!

  3. randy said, on March 10, 2013 at 11:20 am

    jealous but very happy for you

  4. Kelli Leite said, on March 10, 2013 at 12:10 pm

    Hey Gwen! When I saw this was what you are now doing all I immediately thought was wow, so you! I remember the silliness we once shared “cooking” in your mom’s kitchen. But a chef, fits you! I can just see you perfection your pieces of art on a plate and closely examining it to see if it fits your standards! You will have to cook one for me some day when our paths cross again!

  5. signe said, on March 10, 2013 at 1:45 pm

    love it:) thanks for sharing.

  6. Cindie Winquist said, on March 10, 2013 at 3:31 pm

    Funny you should post on contentment, Gwen. I’m reading a book about contentment right now. It’s called “The Greener Grass Conspiracy: Finding Contentment on Your Side of the Fence” by Stephen Altrogge.

    Your post (excellent, BTW) caused me to think back to years ago when we had the baking contest in Awana girls club…I should have known then that you would pursue a culinary art. I pray that you will find deep satisfaction in Christ as you follow your passion and hone your culinary skills.

  7. jimoatman said, on March 10, 2013 at 4:22 pm

    So proud of you. Can’t wait until the big graduation dinner. So looking forward to it.

  8. Liz said, on March 10, 2013 at 4:53 pm

    Like your Dad, I am very proud of you!!! Watching you go through all you’ve been through has been incredible and I can’t wait to see what’s next for you! Let me know if there’s ever anything I can do!

  9. Anonymous said, on March 11, 2013 at 12:37 am

    I am also so proud of you. Remembering all the fun times we have had in the kitchen together. I hope I can still prep for you when you get that chefs hat!

  10. Monica said, on April 10, 2013 at 11:50 am

    I can’t quite recall how I came upon this little journal of yours. Through someone’s Facebook somehow. I knew you, sort of, once upon a time in high school. You probably wouldn’t even remember me. We weren’t friends, but I always admired you at a distance. I always thought you were so beautiful. I still do.

    My heart is encouraged by your adventures. Cooking. The very little I know you says, well of course! What a lovely fit for an introverted creative perfectionist dreamer, full of love and a good dose of ambition.

    I’m in the middle of a book I think you would enjoy very much. Quiet: The Power of Introverts by Susan Cain. You have much to offer the world, and on its behalf I thank you for sharing your gifts with us.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.