gwen learns

part 1: I am a cloud.

Posted in gwen learns by gwenlearns on March 22, 2010

I like to have theories about things. I especially like to have theories about people.  Lately I’ve been comparing people to the sun and the clouds.  Sun people and cloud people.

Sun people are reliable.  They’re the ones who say they’re going to show up at 7 AM and they do.   You just don’t question whether or not the sun will rise.  It’ll always be there.  They have a clear sense of who they are.  We never see a cube or a cylinder, but always our sphere of light rolling through the sky.  They have a lot to offer.  The sun gives off this energy that allows plants to go through photosynthesis, which allows us to breathe in oxygen.  They slave away, portion out their time between the hemispheres, and they make quite a difference in the world….  I used to think I could be a sun person.  I also used to think that Arizona, a place where the sun always shines, was paradise.  But I’ve learned that the sun can be demanding, over-bearing.  It can blind you, wear you down.  It can burn.

I’m an unmistakable cloud.  Clouds don’t always show up, they’re not the most reliable.  Even little kids understand their loose identity when they point out the different shapes in the sky.  They leave behind floods and blizzards… a trail of destruction… But they have a good side too.  In Arizona, I’ve learned that when the clouds show up, often you get a “stop-the-car-and-stare” kind of sunset.  They can take something as unoriginal and ancient as light and give us a new shade of pink.  It doesn’t always work out that way, they’re not a predictable, scheduled formula, but they are capable of magic.

So I’m hoping that’s the case with me.  Hoping I can develop the “cloud person” in me and work some magic.

Leave a Reply

