gwen learns

oh… happy day?

Posted in gwen learns by gwenlearns on April 26, 2011

Of all of the emotions that I could feel, there is one that I don’t trust, and it’s… happiness.

Whenever I’m talking to someone who is demonstrably happy, I have this knee-jerk reaction of… “they’re naive” or “they’re just dismissing or ignoring the brokenness in this world.”  Generally, I try to be empathetic and enter into their enthusiasm, but every once in a while, I find myself annoyed when someone is too happy.  I’m thinking… “okay, just settle down.”

Recently, it’s an emotion I’ve been feeling, and I do not know what to do with it.  It’s been a while.

So what do you do with happiness?  Do you just let it loose and have a mad party of expressing yourself, not caring if people are starting to think “what is up with that person?”  Do you express it in private, respecting those people who aren’t feeling so happy?  Do you direct it somewhere, focus your enthusiasm toward something you care about?  Do you hold it in, save it for a rainy day, if that’s possible?  I really am baffled.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jenny said, on April 26, 2011 at 1:57 pm

    I listen to music really loud so I can sing at the top of my lungs and still not hear myself. =)

    • gwenlearns said, on April 26, 2011 at 6:58 pm

      love that… esp. driving in the car with the windows down on the highway.

  2. Liz (exie) :-) said, on April 26, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    understood! i think a lot of us feel that way when we aren’t in a happy mood….getting annoyed with happy people.

    but when one is happy…i think that it’s good to experiment with how to express it on your own so you know what feels best for you. 🙂 it’s different with everyone. and if what’s better for is letting it “bubble over”, per say, then let it out! And honestly, although it may annoy some people, it usually does more good than harm… you have no idea who you may bring a smile to who is really down.

    It goes both ways though: over-expressing sadness can be annoying too. It depends on how it is done.. With the development of Facebook, I have actually become very annoyed with overly depressing or choleric people because they find nothing better to do but to complain or find something wrong or to have sad sad posts. I find it to be, for lack of a better word, “attention whore-ish”. But don’t get me started on my feelings about Facebook and social networking. There’s good to it…but my overall opinion of it (and the internet as a whole) is that it’s destroying people and the world. 🙂 haha But that’s a story for another day…

    Love you friend!

    • gwenlearns said, on April 26, 2011 at 7:02 pm

      okay liz, i want to know your whole argument on why the internet is destroying the world…. this is why we need to talk!

  3. hollypelz said, on April 26, 2011 at 11:25 pm

    I love the internet! And I think it makes a lot things better. Just my opinion, but it seems to increase communication, allow for greater creative expression in a new/different medium, exposes us to new ideas from all over the world, lowers inhibitions for people with social anxiety (like me sometimes!), improves reading and writing skills, can be a powerful tool for social change, and lots of studies show that online networking is actually increasing people’s offline, face-to-face interaction, not replacing it.

    So yeah, not the point of your thought-provoking post, but I thought I’d offer my opinion anyway.

    Gwen, I’ve really enjoying reading your blog. Thanks for posting!


Leave a Reply

