gwen learns

Outliers

Posted in Uncategorized by gwenlearns on April 30, 2011

I was thinking this book was written to teach people how to become an “outlier”, a success story standout like Steve Jobs or The Beatles.  It’s not… which is okay, because I don’t really want that.

This book is more about challenging us to rethink the way we see great success stories (there’s so much more going on than the simple “rags to riches” and “rising up out of the ashes” tales)… I think it’s meant to be an impetus for macro-change, and not so much for individuals.

That being said, there are a handful of practical takeaways, and I’d like to share one of them.

So… the rule of 10,000 hours.  Apparently to become an expert at anything, to rise to the top of a field, you need to put in 10,000 hours.  For most people, that takes about 10 years to accomplish.

That’s it.  It’s a little discouraging to me, because my interests tend to be all over the place, and I still haven’t found that one thing that I could commit a majority of my energy to.

As a side note, I was thinking this seems to fit well with the whole “spend more energy maximizing your strengths than minimizing your weaknesses” movement, because I don’t know about you, but the only way I’d be able to commit 10,000 hours toward anything is if I really loved doing it.

Have you read any of Malcom Gladwell’s books before?  Curious what you think of his ideas and writing style.  In Outliers, I think his goal was to introduce some ideas in the form of case studies, and not necessarily flesh out all the practical applications.  And it seems like most of his books take on this format.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anonymous said, on June 13, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    Read the Tipping Point and enjoyed it. Probably the influence of people was most fascinating. Haven’t read The Outliers but I think the definition of success is dedicating 10,000 plus hours toward LOVING.


Leave a Reply

