gwen learns

the perfect smoothie.

Posted in recipes by gwenlearns on April 17, 2012

I am a big fan of the smoothie.  I love how you can just throw in whatever you’ve got on hand and it almost always seems to work out.  I’m not a big fan of smoothie recipes though… the thought of measuring anything first thing in the morning is just not my thing.  But this morning, I measured my ingredients for your benefit.  So here is generally what I do:

Some tips:

– Freeze almost all your ingredients so you don’t have to worry about things going bad.

– To save money, chop up your own greens and freeze in zip-lock bags.  I find a mixture of 1 bunch kale, 1 bunch spinach, and 1 bunch collards can last you 3-4 months of smoothies if you chop them all in one day. If that’s too much work, buy pre-chopped frozen greens.

– For more creaminess:  add a frozen banana, use soy milk or other milks with higher fat content instead of water, and avoid berries that have seeds that get stuck in your teeth (raspberries and blackberries).

– To save money on berries, buy in season when there’s a surplus, wash ’em up, dry on a towel, and freeze.

– To make it sweeter: Use fruit juice as your liquid, but realize this will spike your blood sugar.  I have a big sweet tooth and I’ve found this isn’t necessary for me!

– For more nutrients: Use vegetable juice as your liquid!  Save your juicing scraps in a zip lock in your freezer to make broth another day.  It’s more clean-up but you get a ton of additional nutrients!

– About flax and chia: I’ve heard flaxseeds must be ground for you to absorb them.   Since they can go rancid once they’re ground up, store them in the freezer pre-ground up.  This step is not necessary with chia seeds.

– Rinse your blender and cup right away.  Saves a lot of scrubbing later.

Leave a Reply

