gwen learns

honest hymns

Posted in Uncategorized by gwenlearns on January 12, 2015

I finally have my keys with me. Piano keys, of course… As always, I’m still looking for my apartment keys. But I’ve been fiddling around and I think I might write a little song every month in 2015… a sort of “song journal.”

The world needs more honest hymns. While “was lost but now I’m found” is a great story, sometimes I want one song to talk about the lost part. When God confuses me or seems impossible, I want to write about that without feeling obligated to resolve my emotions in a song. This is how I pray.  I tell God exactly where I am and ask him to work in me.

So here’s January (click to listen).

In this song I tell God I want truth more than I want hope.  The day after I wrote this, I walked through the subway on my way to work, and an evangelist was shouting “Jesus is truth” again and again. Not “Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life” like you’d expect to hear from a preacher.  Just “Jesus is truth.” Things like this happen every once in a while, and I try to take it with a grain of salt, but either way I’m listening.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hollypelz said, on January 13, 2015 at 12:46 am

    Gwen, that was beautiful.

  2. Anonymous said, on January 13, 2015 at 5:52 pm

    Beautiful song. I agree with your post & thankful God listens!


Leave a Reply

